Menu
Your Cart

Reviews

Speaker Stand Support FS 104 Signature Range

Custom Design has managed , with typical ingenuity, to find a new take on design by choosing both the pillar sizes and exact top and base plates. The four 25mm satellite pillars add both bending and torsional rigidity. Custom Design recommends filling the central piller with Inert Filler, which we certainly endorse. It would be difficult to fill the satellite pillars. the sound is certainly solid, but it can be a little lively. At best this stand is a great choice for its combination of solid bass and neutral, uncoloured midrange. It really gets results out of speakers small and large, and excels in encouraging fine detail and precise imaging.

Richard Black Hi-Fi Choice issue 346 April 29 2011
20/03/2014

( 10 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Support FS 104 Signature Range

Best Speaker Stand Stands out, that's exactly what this years and last years award winner does. Assembly is fairly simple. Elegant with simplicity which promises to complement any setup, and pracrical too. The satellite columns help keep the unit totally rigid, the central column can be mass loaded with Custom Designs Inert Filler, for best results. Tested with a variety of stanmounts, Q Acoustics 2020i and ATC's SCM11. The stands allowed more control and precision than did their rivals. Compared with the competitors, music sounds clearer, livelier and has better timing. with a punchy bass. What distinguishes the Signatures is that high end detail, very agile and balances things out. For reasonably priced stands look no further. What Hi-Fi Awards 2012

What Hi-Fi Awards 2012
20/03/2014

( 10 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Support FS 104 Signature Range

Custom Designs FS 104 Signature range allow speakers to sound vibrant, transparent and rhythmical. Easy to assemble and well finished stands they give the best results filled with Custom Designs Inert Filler, optional extra £19.96. We used a variety of speakers for the tests and these impressive stands helped with greater degrees of agility and precision compared with rivals. Speaker stands at this price encourage an impressive low end punch, but the FS 104 Signature\'s allow that bass weight to have a nippy sense of fine detailing as well with a more balanced sound. Against their nearest rivals the FS 104 Signatures stand out head and shoulders in allowing a vibrant, transparent and rhythmical sound, making your music enjoyable, as it should be. For speakers true potential, you ought to consider sitting them on the FS 104 Signature range. For Exciting, informative delivery. Against Nothing. What Hi-Fi September 2011

What Hi-Fi September issue 2011
20/03/2014

( 10 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Support FS 104 Signature Range

FS 104 Signature Speaker Stand Range voted speaker stand of the year. What Hi-Fi Awards 2011

What Hi-Fi Awards 2011
20/03/2014

( 10 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Support FS 104 Signature Range

Previous stands: Partington Super Dreadnought (600mm) - filled with sand and granite gravel. New stands: Custom Design FS104 Signature (500mm) - filled with mafeic (volcanic) sand and granite gravel (fill level: outer tubes 60% central column 80%) Due to the size of my speakers I thought they would sound more balanced on 500mm stands, so when a friend needed some 600mm stands I swapped my existing Partingtons for the Custom Design FS104 Signature. Whilst there was a slight decrease in the precision of imagery, the bass quality and discrimination remained just as good; but in almost every other area the sound quality improved appreciably. The most striking improvement was that music became much more dynamic and significantly more involving. Other notable improvements came in the naturalness of voices and particularly in the presentation of fine detail in complex sound patterns. I found I was able to hear details that had previously not been revealed and to follow delicate internal musical threads that had previously been overwhelmed by louder parts of the music. The improvements are carried through equally from rock to acoustic, and from chamber music to full orchestral scores. To simultaneously show such improvements to both dynamics and detail when compared to my previous stands is a considerable achievement. Regards Hugh S. Ellis

Hugh Ellis
20/03/2014

( 10 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Support FS 104 Range

Hi Paul, had a chance to have a proper listen again with the custom built FS 104 speaker stands, and I\'m really impressed. They are a huge improvement on the Atacma Nexus stands they replaced, the sound seems a lot wider, more defined, dynamic and, more importantly, involving. And it was not bad beforehand..... I also managed to pick up one of your iRAP platforms a few weeks ago. That is doing a fine job with my CDQ. Good work, thanks again, Duncan

Duncan
20/03/2014

( 2 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Custom Built SQ 404 Range

The shipping to Italy was very fast. May I say that the realization and finishing is excellent. Starting from this evening these stands will be placed in my listening room. Thanks again for this very good job. I have given your contact to the Italian Spendor dealer who can suggest your site if requested by other SP100 buyers. Custom Built Speaker Stands delivered to Italy

Massimo ( Italy )
20/03/2014

( 6 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Custom Built SQ 404 Range

Dear Paul The stands arrived as promised the day following despatch as promised. They were packed more securely than the Crown Jewels in transit. I feel now that I have new and better speakers. My much loved old Tannoy speakers have been transformed - the increase in clarity is remarkable. With many thanks for sterling advice and service, Don

Don
20/03/2014

( 6 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Custom Built SQ 404 Range

Custom design extra special One of the most common questions that users of classic loudspeakers ask us is, where can I get some decent speaker stands? The trouble is, virtually all pre-eighties boxes were expected to sit either on the floor behind the settee or - if they were lucky - on a pair of appalling castor-based contraptions which wer primarily designed to make the speakers easy to wheel behind the settee...These days, it s easier, as manufactures now recognise the stand as part of the equation, but there will still be times when a high quality, made-to-measure stand is required - enter Custom Design. Although the company makes a range of excellent off-the-shelf products, it can also fabricate bespoke stands to customers specifications. In the case of the stands shown, they were made for Yamaha NS 1000Ms, to take them 20cm off the floor and give a rock-solid support. The result was superb, these Custom Design frame stands getting a brilliantly firm bass from the Yamahas, and letting their midrange drivers breathe. Their tubular design is quite reminiscent of the classic Linn Isobarik stands, being extremely rigid. Acoustic Steel sandwiching a polymer layer was used in parts, making the stands far quieter than they otherwise would have been. They can also be shot-filled too, and Custom Design can supply this at extra cost. Overall, the company displayed a superb level of craftsmanship - clean welds, excellent paint finish and perfect spike implementation made for a superb finished product. If you've a special project in mind, or a bog-standard speaker you want a stand for, this is an excellent company to consider. Price varies according to the work commissioned of course, but they re extremely reasonable. Hi-Fi World - June 2006 Reveiwed by David Price

Custom Design
20/03/2014

( 6 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00

Speaker Stand Custom Built SQ 404 Range

Hello Paul. I have received the Stands on Friday. They were extremely well packed, thank you. They have really afforded major improvements in all areas, particularly on the bass region. It is now stupendously tight and controlled yet deep and Punchy. A result of effective Decoupling from the floor, i believe. That\'s just what I wanted and needed. The other areas of the Spectrum have also benefited tremendously. Midrange is superbly open and detailed and high frequencies are crystal Clear and airy. As a result, Imaging has been improved considerably, now being three dimentional and palpable. To sum up, your Stands have exceeded my expectations. It has been a somewhat long-winded process to obtain them, but it was well worthy. I have never enjoyed my Yamahas- and my Music - so Much! Definitely the best £200 (or so) that I have ever spent. A word of appreciation for DAVID PRICE for bringing your Work to the attention of the Hi-Fi World Readers. Thank You Very Much. Best Wishes, Leonel Silva Rocha PS: Please feel free to post this e-mail in your Website, should you wish to do so...

Leonel
20/03/2014

( 6 ) total reviews

$0.00 Ex Tax: $0.00